You’ll Believe It When You See It!

By Brittany Nels, Education Board Member

 When I was asked to join the Georgia Right to Life (GRTL) Board of Directors, I was honored and excited at the opportunities it would afford me to serve the Lord and work for the pro-life cause. At my first board meeting, Dan Becker talked about GRTL’s need for an educational system to reach Georgia’s youth and the pro-life grassroots, and I agreed. Then, he dropped the bombshell:  the educational system he wanted to use was an exhibit-style training system that included true images of abortion. I have great respect for Dan and believe in the vision the Lord has given him for GRTL, but I instantly felt opposed to anything that would align GRTL with “those pictures”. Dan challenged me to experience the exhibit and training before passing judgment. I decided to do him one better and signed up as a volunteer so I could get the full picture of what Dan was proposing for Georgia Right to Life.

 In the Lord’s providence, there happened to be an exhibit coming to the University of Georgia (UGA) the next month. As I went through the training, the Lord started opening my eyes to things I now hold to be true. I believe there is no way to have an honest conversation about abortion without “those pictures” because the word “abortion” has become so intertwined with the rhetoric of choice. I became convinced during my two days on the UGA campus that the only way for someone to understand abortion is to see abortion. It becomes impossible for a person to deny the humanity of the unborn child when they finally see the outcome of “a woman’s right to choose.” It is 100% possible to use true images of abortion to start a dialogue about the topic, remain Christ-like, and avoid the rhetoric that can stop dialogue in an instant. Some people on the UGA campus might have had unflattering thoughts about us at the exhibit before they talked to us, but I am certain that, thanks to the training we received, all the volunteers were able to dialogue about abortion in a highly knowledgeable fashion with a winsome character.

 Moral relativism is a poison. While at UGA, I spoke with countless people who were “personally pro-life,” but they didn’t believe they had the right to pass judgment on a woman’s personal choice. I believe this reason alone demonstrates our need as the pro-life grassroots to educate ourselves and our youth about abortion and the truth. But teaching someone the basic facts about abortion does not a pro-life ambassador make. You must teach them how to dialogue, not debate, about this issue. Anyone who has ever tried to talk about abortion with others will tell you, this is an intense subject charged with emotion; so I don’t believe we give anyone the weapons of truth without teaching people how to wield them, first. The exhibit-style training affords those being trained the possibility to take what they have learned in the classroom and practice being true fishers of men.

 The pro-abortion side succeeds when we who claim to be pro-life remain silent. I contend that most of us are pro-life by conviction, but pro-choice by non-action and this is only because we are unsure what to do or how to engage the culture around us for fear of being shouted down and called names.

On March 7 and March 9, 2010, Georgia Right to Life and Justice for All will be hosting training for anyone who wants to take the abortion debate and turn it into a meaningful dialogue. The 2nd part of the training will be the campus outreach at Georgia Tech University on Wednesday, March 10th and Thursday, March 11th and at Kennesaw State University on Monday, March 15th and Tuesday, March 16th.

We are encouraging as many people as possible to come participate in one of the days of training and one of days of campus outreach. If you are interested in getting your school or church involved, email state0ffice@grtl.org.  I implore my fellow pro-life Georgians to come impact our state for the unborn and bring about real change. It can be done.

To Register for the Sunday, March 7th training from 1:00-6:00 PM at Georgia Tech, Click Here. To Register for the Tuesday, March 9th training from 1:00 to 6:00 Pm at First Baptist of Atlanta, Click Here.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “You’ll Believe It When You See It!

  1. Brittany, I agree with you 100%. As a post-abortive woman, right after my healing, I would turn away and not look at “those pictures”. It was to painful. Over time, I have come to the decision that we will not end abortion until we see it. Unfortunately, “those pictures” are necessary.
    Very informative article, and very well written.

Leave a Reply

